INFORMATIONS

L'industrie de la pêche redouble d'efforts pour contrer la perte d'équipement de pêche

L'industrie de la pêche redouble d'efforts pour contrer la perte d'équipement de pêche


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Un nouveau rapport publié récemment par l'ONG World Animal Protection a révélé que les 25 plus grandes entreprises de pêche du monde progressent pour arrêter leurs filets de pêche perdus, qui tuent des millions de poissons non récoltés et un grand nombre d'animaux marins chaque année.

Que sont les filets de pêche fantômes?

Filets de pêche fantômes (ALDFG, pour ses sigles en anglais) est utilisé pour désigner les engins de pêche abandonnés, rejetés ou perdus dans l'océan qui peuvent il faut jusqu'à 600 ans pour se décomposer. C'est un terme peu connu (malheureusement), car ce sont les causes de ravages dans la vie des animaux marins qui ne sont pas la cible de la pêche, et donc meurent accidentellement.

Ce qui se passe, c'est que les filets, les lignes et les pièges flottent dans la mer en raison de la négligence, du mauvais temps ou d'une mauvaise utilisation, entre autres raisons. En conséquence, ils blessent ou tuent des centaines de milliers de baleines, de phoques, de tortues et d'oiseaux. , qui meurent lentement et douloureusement.

Parmi les espèces les plus touchées figurent la baleine-jubarte, la baleine franche australe, les dauphins, la vaquita (en danger d'extinction) et les tortues. Au Brésil, par exemple, environ 80% des décès de tortues marines sont causés par des filets de pêche fantômes.

Quelques données statistiques pour comprendre ses graves effets

  • Chaque année, 640 000 tonnes de matériel de pêche sont rejetées dans les océans, blessant et tuant des millions de poissons, baleines, phoques, dauphins et autres animaux marins.
  • Au moins 136 000 grandes baleines, dauphins, phoques, lions de mer et tortues s'emmêlent dans l'équipe fantôme.
  • Les kits fantômes, souvent en plastique, peuvent continuer à piéger et tuer des animaux pendant 600 ans.
  • 71% des enchevêtrements d'animaux marins impliquent des engins fantômes.
  • Plus de 70% des macroplastiques (morceaux de plastique de plus de 5 mm) trouvés dans l'océan sont liés à la pêche.
  • L'équivalent de 52 000 bus à impériale à Londres ou 65 tours Eiffel est la quantité d'engins fantômes laissés dans les océans chaque année.

Il convient de préciser qu'en plus des souffrances que subissent les animaux, les effets de la pêche fantôme ont également un impact sur nos vies, car réduire la quantité de poissons dans les océans jusqu'à 30%.

L'avancement des entreprises de pêche

Après avoir publié en 2018 un premier rapport sur l'état des filets de pêche fantômes, cette année l'ONG World Animal Protection a publié un nouveau, Ghosts Beneath the Waves: 2e édition, lequel classe le comportement de 25 entreprises de fruits de mer.

Les niveaux d'évaluation vont de 1 (bonnes pratiques) à 5 (sans engagement) en fonction de leur capacité à aborder le problème des «équipes fantômes».

Comme en 2018, aucune entreprise n'a atteint le niveau 1. Cependant, trois des plus grandes entreprises mondiales de produits de la mer, êtes entré au niveau 2 pour la première fois, et maintenant ils ont intégré les meilleures pratiques concernant les «équipes fantômes» dans leur stratégie commerciale.


  • Thai Union, qui possède un portefeuille mondial de marques populaires, telles que John West et Chicken of the Sea, s'engage à assurer des projets d'amélioration de la pêche dans l'Atlantique Est et l'océan Indien qui sont conformes à la Global Ghost Gear Initiative (Global Ghost Gear Initiative ou GGGI), comprenant le cadre de pratique et les directives volontaires de la FAO sur le marquage des engins de pêche.
  • TriMarine, qui fournit des services liés à l'approvisionnement en thon aux principales marques de thon du monde entier, a une stratégie claire pour lutter contre les équipements fantômes et une traçabilité à 100%.
  • Le groupe Bolton, présent dans 45 bureaux, vend des marques telles que Rio Mare Tuna et exporte dans plus de 30 pays. C'est l'une des seules entreprises à avoir des objectifs clairs pour les filets fantômes en ce qui concerne la récupération des filets et les dispositifs de concentration de poisson (DCP)..

Classement général

Niveau 1 - Diriger / établir les meilleures pratiques Aucun de ceux évalués
Niveau 2 - Réalisateur / Complet pour la stratégie d'entrepriseThai Union, TriMarine, Bolton Group
Niveau 3 - Amélioration / établi, mais avec du travail à faire Bumble Bee Foods, Groupe Nueva Pescanova
Niveau 4 - Engagé / à l'ordre du jour, mais preuves de mise en œuvre limitées Fruits de mer américains, Cargill Aqua Nutrition, Dongwon Industries, Grupo Calvo, High Liner Foods, Nippon Suisan (Nissui), Nutreco, Pacific Seafood Group, Princes, Young’s Seafood
Niveau 5 - Non engagé / aucune preuve que l'ALDFG est à l'ordre du jour des entreprisesAndrew Marr International, Austevoll, Beaver Street Fisheries, Camil, Clearwater Seafoods, Cooke Seafood, East Coast Seafood Group, Frinsa, Maruha Nichiro Corporation, Nippon Suisan (Nissui), Samherji

La note moyenne des 15 entreprises couvertes dans les évaluations 2018 et 2019 augmenté de 23% à 30%, avec sept entreprises qui progressent d'un ou plusieurs niveaux. En 2019, 10 entreprises supplémentaires ont également été évaluées.

Malgré de bons progrès au cours de l'année dernière, le rapport montre que il y a beaucoup plus de travail à faire pour faire face à la menace des filets de pêche fantômes.

Agir pour un changement

L'équipe perdue est quatre fois plus susceptible de capturer et de tuer des animaux marins que toutes les autres formes de débris marins combiné. De plus, il contribue également à problème de plastique dans l'océan, avec plus de 70% de macroplastiques liés à la pêche.

La Global Ghost Gear Initiative (GGGI), une alliance fondée par World Animal Protection en 2015, se consacre à s'attaquer au problème des filets de pêche fantômes à l'échelle mondiale.. La force du GGGI réside dans la diversité de ses participants, y compris l'industrie de la pêche, le secteur privé, les universités, les gouvernements, les organisations intergouvernementales et non gouvernementales. Chaque participant a un rôle essentiel à jouer dans l'atténuation des équipes fantômes aux niveaux local, régional et mondial.

Ingrid Giskes, directrice mondiale du changement marin chez World Animal Protection, a déclaré: «Au cours de l'année écoulée, l'industrie des fruits de mer a vraiment eu du mal à résoudre le problème des engins fantômes et prend désormais ses responsabilités beaucoup plus au sérieux. Les entreprises, les gouvernements et d'autres parties prenantes ont reconnu que les ordinateurs fantômes sont un problème majeur qui doit être résolu rapidement.

«Le GGGI a accueilli une quarantaine de nouveaux membres au cours des 12 derniers mois. Le rapport démontre clairement que les entreprises qui rejoignent le GGGI réussissent mieux à lutter contre les équipes fantômes dans leurs chaînes d'approvisionnement, ainsi qu'à contribuer aux objectifs de développement durable (ODD) des Nations Unies. Nous sommes impatients d'accueillir davantage de membres qui souhaitent protéger la vie marine. "

Le GGGI a développé le Best Practice Framework (BPF) pour la gestion des équipes fantômes.

Utiliser la technologie pour aider les animaux

La réalité est que grâce à la technologie, les entreprises peuvent changer le sort de la vie marine. Si tout le matériel de pêche commerciale était identifié, les entreprises et les pêcheurs pourraient s'assurer que les filets n'étaient pas perdus ou jetés, mais renvoyés avec eux, évitant ainsi la souffrance des animaux. De plus, les organismes d'application de la loi auraient la possibilité de retrouver les contrevenants.

Quelques alternatives:

  • Étiquettes physiques
  • Marquage chimique
  • Code de couleurs
  • Identification par radiofréquence (RFID)
  • Balises radio
  • Bouées satellites

Faites passer le message à vos proches pour que de plus en plus d'entreprises s'engagent à changer, non seulement dans leur comportement, mais surtout dans la vie animale et l'environnement!

Plus d'informations: www.ghostgear.org


Vidéo: Présentation matériel de pêche de 1930: fils, soie, leurre, monture,.. Partie 1 (Mai 2022).

NEWS

The fishing industry increases its efforts to counteract lost fishing equipment

The fishing industry increases its efforts to counteract lost fishing equipment

A new report recently released by the NGO World Animal Protection found that the world's top 25 fishing companies are making progress to stop their lost fishing nets, which are killing millions of uncollected fish and vast numbers of marine animals each year.

What are ghost fishing nets?

Ghost fishing nets (ALDFG, for its acronym in English) is used to refer to abandoned, discarded, or lost fishing gear in the ocean that may take up to 600 years to decompose. It is a little known term (unfortunately), since these are the causes of havoc in the life of marine animals that are not the target of fishing, and therefore accidentally die.

What happens is that nets, lines and traps are floating in the sea due to carelessness, bad weather or improper use, among other reasons. As a consequence, they cause injuries or kill hundreds of thousands of whales, seals, turtles and birds. , who die slowly and painfully.

Among the most affected species are the jubarte whale, the southern right whale, dolphins, the vaquita (in danger of extinction) and turtles. In Brazil, for example, about 80% of sea turtle deaths are caused by ghost fishing nets.

Some statistical data to understand its serious effects

  • Each year, 640,000 tons of fishing equipment is discarded into the oceans, injuring and killing millions of fish, whales, seals, dolphins and other marine animals.
  • At least 136,000 large whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions and turtles become entangled in the ghost team.
  • Ghost kits, often made of plastic, can keep trapping and killing animals for 600 years.
  • 71% of marine animal entanglements involve ghost gear.
  • More than 70% of the macroplastics (plastic pieces larger than 5mm) found in the ocean are related to fishing.
  • The equivalent of 52,000 London double-decker buses or 65 Eiffel Towers is the amount of ghost gear left in the oceans each year.

It should be clarified that in addition to the suffering that animals suffer, the effects of ghost fishing also impact our lives, since decrease the amount of fish in the oceans by up to 30%.

The advancement of fishing companies

After publishing in 2018 a first report on the state of ghost fishing nets, this year the NGO World Animal Protection has released a new one, Ghosts Beneath the Waves: 2nd Edition, which ranks the behavior of 25 companies of seafood.

The evaluation levels range from 1 (best practices) to 5 (no commitment) in relation to their ability to address the problem of "ghost teams".

As in 2018, no company reached level 1. However, three of the world's leading seafood companies, have entered level 2 for the first time, and now they have incorporated the best practices regarding "ghost teams" into their business strategy.


  • Thai Union, which has a global portfolio of popular brands, such as John West and Chicken of the Sea, is committed to ensuring fisheries improvement projects in the eastern Atlantic and Indian Ocean that are in line with The Global Ghost Gear Initiative (Global Ghost Gear Initiative or GGGI), comprising the framework of practice and the FAO voluntary guidelines on the marking of fishing gear.
  • TriMarine, which provides tuna supply related services to major tuna brands around the world, has a clear strategy to address ghost equipment and 100% traceability.
  • Bolton Group, present in 45 offices, sells brands such as Rio Mare Tuna and exports to more than 30 countries. They are one of the only companies with clear goals for phantom nets when it comes to net recovery and Fish Concentration Devices (DCP).

General Ranking

Level 1 - Leading / establishing best practices None of those evaluated
Level 2 - Achiever / Comprehensive for Business StrategyThai Union, TriMarine, Bolton Group
Level 3 - Improving / established, but with work to do Bumble Bee Foods, Nueva Pescanova Group
Level 4 - Committed / on the agenda, but limited evidence of implementation American Seafoods, Cargill Aqua Nutrition, Dongwon Industries, Grupo Calvo, High Liner Foods, Nippon Suisan (Nissui), Nutreco, Pacific Seafood Group, Princes, Young’s Seafood
Level 5 - Uncommitted / no evidence that ALDFG is on the business agendaAndrew Marr International, Austevoll, Beaver Street Fisheries, Camil, Clearwater Seafoods, Cooke Seafood, East Coast Seafood Group, Frinsa, Maruha Nichiro Corporation, Nippon Suisan (Nissui), Samherji

The average score of the 15 companies covered in both 2018 and 2019 assessments increased from 23% to 30%, with seven companies advancing one or more levels. In 2019, 10 additional companies were also evaluated.

Despite good progress in the last year, the report shows that there is much more work to do to face the threat of ghost fishing nets.

Acting for a change

The lost team is four times more likely to catch and kill marine animals than all other forms of marine debris combined. In addition, it is also contributing to plastic problem in the ocean, with more than 70% of macroplastics related to fisheries.

The Global Ghost Gear Initiative (GGGI), an alliance founded by World Animal Protection in 2015, is dedicated to tackling the problem of ghost fishing nets on a global scale.. The strength of the GGGI lies in the diversity of its participants, including the fishing industry, the private sector, academia, governments, intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations. Each participant has a critical role to play in mitigating ghost teams locally, regionally, and globally.

Ingrid Giskes, Global Director of Marine Change at World Animal Protection, said: “Over the past year, the seafood industry has really struggled to address the ghost gear issue and is now taking its responsibilities much more seriously. Companies, governments and other stakeholders have recognized that phantom computers are a major problem that must be addressed quickly.

“The GGGI has welcomed around 40 new members in the last 12 months. The report clearly demonstrates that companies that join the GGGI perform better in addressing ghost teams in their supply chains, as well as contributing to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). We look forward to welcoming more members who want to protect marine life. "

The GGGI developed the Best Practice Framework (BPF) for the management of phantom teams.

Using technology to help animals

The reality is that thanks to technology, companies can change the fate of marine life. If all commercial fishing equipment were identified, companies and fishers could ensure that the nets were not lost or discarded, but returned with them, thus avoiding animal suffering. Additionally, law enforcement agencies would have the opportunity to track down violators.

Some alternatives:

  • Physical labels
  • Chemical marking
  • Color coding
  • Radio Frequency Identification (RFID)
  • Radio beacons
  • Satellite buoys

Spread the message to your close friends so that more and more companies commit to change, not only in their behavior, but above all in animal life and the environment!

More information: www.ghostgear.org

Video: Best Practices to Prevent and Reduce abandoned, lost and discarded fishing gear (October 2020).