Champions of the Earth 2016

Champions of the Earth 2016

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Six environmental leaders from the spheres of government, research and grassroots movements received the United Nations' highest environmental award, the Champions of the Earth award, during the UN Conference on Biodiversity, reported the UN Program for the Environment (UNEP) through a statement.

The annual award, he noted, is awarded to prominent figures from the public and private sectors and civil society, whose actions had a significant positive impact on the environment.

UNEP explained that this year's awards, which were presented during the reception gala of the UN Conference on Biodiversity in Cancun, Mexico, recognized a wide range of environmental actions that contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals adopted by the international community in 2015.

According to the body, each of the laureates shows in different ways that transforming the world with development that is low-carbon, resource-efficient and socially, economically and environmentally sustainable is not only possible, but is already taking place.

The 2016 winners are as follows: The Mexican Biologist José Sarukhán Kermez, and the Honduran ecologist Berta Cáceres, murdered last March, won the Champions of the Earth award, the United Nations' highest environmental award.

Cáceres was recognized for her tireless campaign for the rights of the indigenous people of Honduras and the protection of their natural environment. While Sarukhán Kermez, for a life of leadership and innovation in the conservation of biodiversity in Mexico and around the world.

Four other figures that were awarded are: Paul kagame, President of Rwanda, for his outstanding leadership in the fight against climate change and in national environmental action.

Leyla Acaroglu, founder of Disrupt Design (New York), Eco Innovators (Melbourne) and UnSchool, for promoting positive change through design, innovation, communication and human connection.

More in, the Moroccan agency for sustainable energy, for its commitment to advancing sustainable energy by making it more affordable and for innovative approaches to green financing.

Afroz Shah, for his outstanding leadership and initiative to mobilize large-scale public support to remove 3,000 tons of trash from Versova Beach in Mumbai, India.

UN Environment Executive Director Erik Solheim said that 'around the world we have seen great efforts to translate last year's historic sustainable development agreements into action, since the ratification of the Paris Agreement on climate change and the New Agenda Urban until intensification of efforts to combat illegal wildlife trafficking. '

However, he added, 'governments know they cannot do it alone and this year's Champions have demonstrated the vision and commitment needed at all levels to improve our stewardship of the planet, achieve sustainable development and ensure prosperity for all. people'.


Since it was founded twelve years ago, 78 personalities, ranging from nation leaders to grassroots activists, have been recognized with this award in the categories of politics, science, business and civil society.

The awards were delivered on December 2, 2016, within the framework of the UN Conference on Biodiversity.

The Panama Star

Video: All Performances THE WINNER Britains Got Talent 2016. Richard Jones (July 2022).


  1. Harimann

    Well, actually, a lot of what you write is not quite like that ... Well, okay, it doesn't matter

  2. Coyan

    Certainly. I agree with told all above. Let's discuss this question.

  3. Jediah

    You will not prompt to me, where I can read about it?

  4. Zemariam

    Good resource)) The topics are interesting and the design is beautiful)

  5. Akigul

    gee chipmunk =)

Write a message