Middle Europe against the cultivation of transgenics

Middle Europe against the cultivation of transgenics

Eleven Member States of the European Union have asked the European Commission to be excluded from the Community territory in which it is allowed to cultivate genetically modified organisms (GMOs), even if they have been authorized at European level.

Specifically, the countries that have submitted this position are Latvia, Greece, Croatia, France, Austria, Hungary, the Netherlands, Poland and Lithuania, to which are added the regions of Wallonia (Belgium) and Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland ( UK).

As explained by the spokesman for the Community Executive, Enrico Brivio, at a press conference, these requests have already been sent to the companies affected in the case of Greece and Latvia, while the Commission works to send the requests to the rest of the companies, they have a month to react.

Member States have the possibility to request exclusion from their territory to seed companies until next October 3, although this phase is not mandatory, according to the directive on the cultivation of GMOs.

After this date, EU countries may adopt measures to restrict or prohibit the cultivation in their territory or part of it of these products, provided that these measures are in accordance with "EU law, reasoned, proportionate and non-discriminatory" .

Furthermore, these measures must be based on "compelling" reasons, such as the objectives of environmental policy or agricultural policy, land use, socio-economic implications or public order.


Video: Green Learning - Food u0026 Agriculture: GMOs and New Biotechnologies (May 2021).