LES SUJETS

Les forêts tropicales ralentissent le changement climatique

Les forêts tropicales ralentissent le changement climatique


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

L'étude, menée par la NASA, estime que sur l'absorption globale de 2,4 milliards de tonnes métriques de CO2, les forêts tropicales absorbent 1,4 milliard de tonnes métriques par an. C'est plus que ce que les forêts boréales du Canada, de la Sibérie et d'autres régions nordiques absorbent.

Selon le communiqué de presse, c'est une bonne nouvelle car la consommation des forêts boréales est en baisse, tandis que les forêts tropicales pourront absorber du carbone pendant encore plusieurs années.

Les zones boisées de la planète ont été d'une grande aide pour ralentir les effets de l'augmentation de la production humaine de dioxyde de carbone, grâce à un processus appelé rétention. Les arbres éliminent le CO2 de l'atmosphère pendant la photosynthèse, en stockant une partie dans leurs troncs et feuilles et en transférant une partie dans le sol par leurs racines.

Les forêts et autres végétaux sont responsables d'environ 30% des émotions humaines liées au carbone. Mais si le taux d'absorption diminuait, l'élévation de la température globale s'accélérerait en conséquence.

Les résultats ont été publiés dans la revue Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.


Vidéo: Réchauffement climatique: le pouvoir des tourbières du Congo (Mai 2022).

TOPICS

Tropical forests slow climate change

Tropical forests slow climate change

The study, led by NASA, estimates that of the global absorption of 2.4 billion metric tons of CO2, tropical forests absorb 1.4 billion metric tons annually. This is more than the boreal forests in Canada, Siberia and other northern regions absorb.

According to the press release, this is good news as the consumption of boreal forests is declining, while tropical forests will be able to absorb carbon for several more years.

The forested areas of the planet have been of great help in slowing the effects of increased human production of carbon dioxide, through a process called retention. Trees remove CO2 from the atmosphere during photosynthesis, storing some of it in their trunks and leaves and transferring some of it to the soil through their roots.

Forests and other vegetation are responsible for approximately 30% of human carbon emotions. But if the absorption rate were to decrease, the rise in global temperature would accelerate as a consequence.

The results were published in the journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.


Video: Whats Under The Ice In Antarctica? (June 2021).