LES SUJETS

Le boom des districts nautiques aggrave les inondations en Argentine

Le boom des districts nautiques aggrave les inondations en Argentine


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Par Fabiana Frayssinet

Dans les années 90, un boom résidentiel a commencé qui privatise les quartiers sur des écosystèmes vitaux, construisant des murs socio-économiques dans la région métropolitaine de Buenos Aires, et maintenant aussi des murs environnementaux.

La sudestada est un phénomène typique du bassin de la rivière La Plata, avec une rotation rapide des vents forts, suivie de tourbillons d'air et de pluies.

Cette fois, les vents ont dépassé 70 kilomètres à l'heure et il y a eu plus de précipitations en deux jours que prévu pendant deux mois, ce qui a débordé des rivières, inondé de grandes zones et laissé plus de 5 000 évacués. Jorge Capitanich, chef de cabinet du gouvernement Cristina Fernández, a attribué les inondations à «une combinaison du sud-est, de fortes pluies et de la saturation des bassins hydrographiques». Mais Patricia Pintos, du Centre de Recherche Géographique de l'Université de La Plata, a souligné que cette confluence de facteurs était aggravée par la «propagation d'un phénomène d'urbanisation», avec la prolifération de quartiers «nautiques» ou «d'urbanisations aquatiques fermées».

Cette offre immobilière dans les villes fortifiées «cherche à générer des paysages proches ou liés à des plans d'eau artificiels ou naturels», explique ce géographe, co-auteur du livre «La privatopía sacrílega», à Tierramérica. Effets de l'urbanisme privé dans le bassin inférieur de la rivière Luján ».

Beaucoup de ces communautés fermées de luxe occupaient des plaines inondables de rivières et de vastes zones de zones humides, considérées comme vitales dans le cours d'eau naturel, pour le ruissellement de l'eau à mesure que l'eau monte.

"Ce qui s'est passé avec ce phénomène d'urbanisation, c'est qu'ils ont avancé sur la place qui remplissait le rôle d'amortissement des inondations", a-t-il expliqué. Les zones humides "sont obstruées par des urbanisations qui, paradoxalement, favorisent un mode de vie associé à la jouissance de l'eau et de la nature", a déclaré à Tierramérica l'urbaniste Laila Robledo, de l'Université nationale du Général Sarmiento.

Dans le bassin inférieur du fleuve Luján, ces quartiers pour les secteurs aisés de la population se sont développés dans quatre des municipalités les plus touchées: Pilar, Campana, Escobar et Tigre, qui occupent plus de 7 000 hectares.

«La succession de 65 urbanisations comme celles-ci, a modifié la topographie du relief dans la zone de l'embouchure du fleuve, et a arrêté le drainage lors d'événements tels que ceux vécus ce mois-ci», a averti Pintos. Ces quartiers, que le spécialiste appelle «urbanisations fermées poudrées (avec remblais périmétriques)», «impliquent une profonde altération des caractéristiques morphologiques naturelles, non seulement pour atteindre les niveaux de plancher habitable dans les parcelles à usage résidentiel (remplissage), mais pour générer de nouvelles masses d'eau (dragage et remplissage) »Cela implique, par exemple, de creuser pour créer des lagunes artificielles et d'utiliser ces terres pour combler les bas-fonds. De plus, ces quartiers étant situés dans des zones inondées, des remblais périphériques de 6 à 10 mètres de haut sont construits, pour les protéger de l'entrée d'eau extérieure. "Ils servent de protection mais en même temps agissent comme des digues et génèrent des situations d'inondation dans les quartiers voisins." «Ce qui les protège fait mal à ceux qui sont à l'extérieur», résume le géographe.

A Tigre, 10% de ses 350 000 habitants vivent dans des quartiers de ce type, qui occupent la moitié du territoire, selon le secrétaire général de la municipalité, Martín Gianella, à Tierramérica. «C'est ce que nous appelons un modèle de ségrégation socio-territoriale. Il est divisé à travers les murs, les territoires et la société », a-t-il déclaré. Gianella a précisé que Tigre, dans le nord de ce qu'on appelle le Grand Buenos Aires, a été historiquement inondé de sudestadas. "La nouveauté que nous avons connue au cours des cinq dernières années est les inondations dues à la pluie, ce qui n'est pas par hasard qu'elles se produisent principalement dans les quartiers adjacents aux communautés fermées développées au cours de la dernière décennie", a-t-il déclaré.

Le responsable a exhorté la municipalité à contrôler et réglementer ces constructions et "à exiger une taxe spéciale de ces méga promoteurs, à l'investir dans les travaux hydrauliques nécessaires". Robledo a souligné que les changements des régimes hydrauliques n'affectent pas uniquement les zones entourant les quartiers fermés, car Buenos Aires est une plaine traversée par des bassins hydrographiques. «La ville fait partie d'un métabolisme urbain, ce qui se passe à un endroit affecte le reste», a-t-il expliqué. Par conséquent, les solutions doivent être "interjuridictionnelles", a-t-il dit. Selon l'urbaniste, la construction de ces quartiers fermés "favorise la privatisation de la ville et la spéculation immobilière, au détriment du reste de la population". Sur la base d'une «logique de rentabilité» sur la valeur foncière, «les entreprises achètent des plaines inondables historiquement bon marché, les remplissent pour les rendre habitables et génèrent des profits extraordinaires», a-t-il résumé.

"C'est le résultat de la croissance d'un modèle de développement de la ville adopté par des municipalités très enclines à favoriser l'atterrissage de gros flux d'investissements", a ajouté Pintos. Tous deux ont convenu que les normes et les cartes de risques socio-environnementaux pour réglementer ces constructions existent, mais qu'elles ne sont pas appliquées. Les grands entrepreneurs immobiliers de la province de Buenos Aires, comme Gonzalo Monarca, président du Grupo Monarca, ont nié être responsables du problème qu'ils attribuent au changement climatique. "C'est un argument fallacieux", a réagi Robledo.

«Le changement climatique est évident dans le monde entier mais les conséquences sont mineures ou plus importantes selon la façon dont la population se situe dans les villes.

«Si nous occupons une vallée d'inondation qui sert à l'eau pour l'occuper lorsque la rivière monte, il est évident que l'eau s'écoulera vers d'autres zones», a-t-il réaffirmé. Robledo a estimé qu'en ne réglementant ni en interdisant ce type d'entreprise, les villes resteraient inondées plus longtemps et plus fréquemment, même avec des pluies moins abondantes.

Pintos va plus loin avec des solutions «pas très gentilles (politiquement)» et «très onéreuses», mais cela ne doit pas être exclu en raison de l'aggravation du problème. Il a rappelé les expériences de relocalisation de populations sur les rives du Mississippi, sur lequel la ville américaine de la Nouvelle-Orléans a historiquement avancé, avec les conséquences dramatiques de l'ouragan Katrina en 2005. Une autre solution intermédiaire serait d'interdire de nouveaux quartiers privés dans des écosystèmes fragiles, et qui revoient les autorisations accordées pour continuer à construire en leur sein. Il a également recommandé aux entreprises de "faire face à des coûts de remise en état", bien que ces travaux seraient "un palliatif contre une situation critique", qui "aurait pu être évitée si la rationalité avait prévalu".

Leandro Silva, chef de l'environnement pour le bureau du médiateur national, a rappelé à Tierramérica qu'en 2010, cette agence avait mis en garde les municipalités de Zárate, Campana, Escobar, Tigre et San Fernando contre les risques d'expansion des communautés fermées dans l'écosystème du delta du Paraná, et les a exhortés à respecter les études d'impact environnemental et à exercer des contrôles stricts.

«La récurrence des inondations et les impacts sur les citoyens les plus vulnérables rendent nécessaire d'approfondir ces mécanismes, et d'exercer une prévention active, en déployant dans les bassins hydrographiques tous les instruments de gestion environnementale requis par la loi: études d'impact environnemental, participation citoyenne , la planification environnementale du territoire et l'accès à l'information publique », a-t-il souligné.

Cet article a été initialement publié par le réseau Tierramérica de journaux latino-américains. Edité par Estrella Gutiérrez

IPS Ecoportal.net

informations


Vidéo: Crue majeure de la Garonne, Vigilance Rouge à Marmande et dans le Lot et Garonne! (Mai 2022).

TOPICS

The boom in nautical districts aggravates floods in Argentina

The boom in nautical districts aggravates floods in Argentina

By Fabiana Frayssinet

In the 1990s, a residential boom began that privatizes neighborhoods on vital ecosystems, building socio-economic walls in the Metropolitan Region of Buenos Aires, and now also environmental ones.

The sudestada is a phenomenon typical of the La Plata river basin, with rapid rotation of strong winds, followed by eddies of air and rain.

This time the winds exceeded 70 kilometers per hour and there was more rainfall in two days than expected for two months, which overflowed rivers, flooded large areas and left more than 5,000 evacuees. Jorge Capitanich, Chief of Cabinet of the Cristina Fernández government, attributed the floods to "a combination of the southeast, heavy rains and saturation of water basins." But Patricia Pintos, from the Geographical Research Center of the University of La Plata, pointed out that this confluence of factors was aggravated by the "spread of an urbanizing phenomenon", with the proliferation of "nautical" neighborhoods or "closed aquatic urbanizations".

This real estate offer in walled cities "seeks to generate landscapes close to or linked to artificial or natural bodies of water," this geographer, co-author of the book "La privatopía sacrílega," explained to Tierramérica. Effects of private urban planning in the lower basin of the Luján river ”.

Many of these luxury gated communities occupied river floodplains and vast areas of wetlands, considered vital in the natural water course, for water runoff as the water rises.

"What happened with this urbanizing phenomenon is that they advanced on the place that fulfilled the role of amortization of the floods," he explained. The wetlands "are clogged with urbanizations that, paradoxically, promote a lifestyle associated with the enjoyment of water and nature," urban planner Laila Robledo, of the National University of General Sarmiento, told Tierramérica.

In the lower basin of the Luján river, these neighborhoods for affluent sectors of the population grew in four of the most affected municipalities: Pilar, Campana, Escobar and Tigre, which occupy more than 7,000 hectares.

"The succession of 65 urbanizations like these, modified the topography of the relief in the area of ​​the river mouth, and stopped drainage in events such as those experienced this month," Pintos warned. These neighborhoods, which the specialist calls “polderized closed urbanizations (with perimeter embankments)”, “imply a profound alteration of the natural morphological characteristics, not only to reach the levels of habitable floor level in the plots for residential use (filling), but to generate new bodies of water (dredging and refilling) ”This implies, for example, digging to create artificial lagoons and using that land to fill low areas. In addition, as these neighborhoods are in flooded areas, perimeter embankments between six and 10 meters high are built to protect them from the entry of outside water. "They serve as protection but at the same time act as dikes and generate flooding situations in neighboring neighborhoods." "What protects them hurts those who are outside," summarized the geographer.

In Tigre, 10 percent of its 350,000 inhabitants live in neighborhoods of this type, which occupy half the territory, according to the municipality's secretary general, Martín Gianella, told Tierramérica. “It is what we call a model of socio-territorial segregation. It is divided through walls, territories and society, ”he said. Gianella clarified that Tigre, in the north of the so-called Greater Buenos Aires, has historically been flooded by sudestadas. "The novelty that we have experienced in the last five years is flooding due to rain, which is not by chance that it mainly occurs in neighborhoods adjacent to gated communities developed in the last decade," he said.

The official urged the municipality to control and regulate these constructions and "to demand a special tax from these mega developers, to invest it in the necessary hydraulic works." Robledo stressed that changes in hydraulic regimes do not affect only the areas surrounding closed neighborhoods, because Buenos Aires is a plain crossed by hydrographic basins. "The city is part of an urban metabolism, what occurs in one place affects the rest," he explained. Therefore, the solutions must be "interjurisdictional", he said. According to the urban planner, the construction of these closed neighborhoods "favors the privatization of the city and real estate speculation, to the detriment of the rest of the population." Based on a "profitability logic" on land value, "companies buy historically cheap floodplains, fill them to make them habitable and generate extraordinary profits," he summarized.

"It is the result of the growth of a city development model adopted by municipalities that are very prone to favoring large flows of investment," added Pintos. Both agreed that the norms and socio-environmental risk maps to regulate these constructions exist, but that they are not applied. The great real estate entrepreneurs in the province of Buenos Aires, such as Gonzalo Monarca, president of Grupo Monarca, denied being responsible for the problem they attribute to climate change. "It is a fallacious argument", reacted Robledo.

“Climate change is evident worldwide but the consequences are minor or greater according to how the population sits on the cities.

"If we occupy a flood valley that is used for the water to occupy it when the river rises, it is obvious that the water will drain to other areas," he reaffirmed. Robledo considered that by not regulating and prohibiting this type of undertaking, cities will remain flooded longer and more frequently, even with less copious rains.

Pintos goes further with solutions that are “not very nice (politically)” and “very onerous”, but that should not be ruled out due to the worsening of the problem. He recalled experiences of relocation of populations on the banks of the Mississippi River, on which the American city of New Orleans historically advanced, with the dramatic consequences of Hurricane Katrina in 2005. Another intermediate solution would be to prohibit new private neighborhoods in fragile ecosystems, and that review the authorizations granted to continue building within them. He also recommended that companies "face the costs of remediation", although these works would be "a palliative against a critical situation", which "could have been avoided if rationality had prevailed."

Leandro Silva, chief of environment for the National Ombudsman's Office, reminded Tierramérica that in 2010 that agency warned the municipalities of Zárate, Campana, Escobar, Tigre and San Fernando about the risks of the expansion of gated communities in the ecosystem from the delta of the Paraná River, and urged them to respect environmental impact studies and exercise strict controls.

“The recurrence of floods and the impacts on the most vulnerable citizens make it necessary to deepen these mechanisms, and to exercise prevention in an active way, deploying in the water basins all the environmental management instruments required by law: environmental impact assessments, citizen participation, environmental planning of the territory and access to public information ”, he stressed.

This article was originally published by the Tierramérica network of Latin American newspapers. Edited by Estrella Gutiérrez

Ecoportal.net IPS

News


Video: Climate Change (June 2021).