8 countries unite to conserve Amazon's protected areas

8 countries unite to conserve Amazon's protected areas

The project, called Amazon Vision, will be financed by the European Union and will seek to strengthen the systems of protected areas of the Amazon region belonging to those eight countries, in order to increase the resilience of the Amazon ecosystem to the effects of climate change and maintain the provision of goods and services that benefit biodiversity, communities and local economies.

An amount of 5.2 million euros (equivalent to 6.3 million dollars) will be administered for this purpose by the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF), the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP), under the coordination of FAO. Towards a defined agenda

The initiative is part of the Vision for conservation based on the Amazon ecosystem, proposed since 2007 by the Latin American Network for Technical Cooperation in National Parks -Redparques-, which is currently a world reference. Its main objective is to develop a regional agenda for joint work and support the included countries to build a shared approach to the conservation and sustainable management of the Amazon, considered one of the most important ecosystems on the planet.

In a period of four years, it will seek to strengthen technical coordination between the Amazonian countries, their local governments and regional organizations to define conservation priorities, integrate local communities, protected area authorities and other stakeholders in the initiative, build a financing strategy for the action plan of the Vision of conservation of the Amazon ecosystem in the long term and improve the management of protected areas in at least five of the countries involved.

Directors and authorities of Protected Areas of the Amazonian countries were summoned to a meeting the previous Thursday in Bogotá, on the occasion of the launch of the project. (PT)


What you should know

° The Amazon rainforest is the largest tropical forest in the world.

° It is considered that its extension reaches 6 million km² distributed among eight countries, of which Brazil and Peru have the largest extension, followed by Colombia, Bolivia, Ecuador, Guyana, Venezuela and Suriname.

° Forests have been indiscriminately felling since ancient times and their destruction has exploded in the last 400 years, rapidly reducing their area around the world.

The Data

On November 11, 2011, the Amazon was declared one of the seven natural wonders of the world.

The Hour

Video: Life in North Korea. DW Documentary (June 2021).