LES SUJETS

Pouvons-nous continuer à manger autant de viande? Quelles conséquences cela entraîne-t-il?

Pouvons-nous continuer à manger autant de viande? Quelles conséquences cela entraîne-t-il?


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Par Esther Vivas

La consommation de viande est associée au progrès et à la modernité. En fait, dans l'État espagnol entre 1965 et 1991, sa consommation a été multipliée par quatre, en particulier celle de la viande de porc, selon les données du ministère de l'Agriculture. Ces dernières années, cependant, la consommation dans les pays industrialisés a stagné, voire diminué, en raison, entre autres, de scandales alimentaires (vaches folles, grippe aviaire, poulets à la dioxine, viande de cheval au lieu de bœuf). Vache, etc.) et d'une plus grande souci de ce que nous mangeons. Dans tous les cas, il ne faut pas oublier qu'ici aussi, et plus encore dans un contexte de crise, les grands secteurs ne peuvent pas opter pour des aliments frais ou de qualité ou choisir entre des régimes avec ou sans viande.

La tendance dans les pays émergents, comme le Brésil, la Russie, l'Inde, la Chine et l'Afrique du Sud, les BRICS, en revanche, est à la hausse. Ceux-ci concentrent 40% de la population mondiale et entre 2003 et 2012 leur consommation de viande a augmenté de 6,3%, et on s'attend à ce qu'entre 2013 et 2022, elle augmente de 2,5%. Le cas le plus spectaculaire est celui de la Chine, qui est passée en quelques années, de 1963 à 2009, de 90 kilocalories de viande par personne et par jour à 694, comme l'indique le Meat Atlas. Les motifs? L'augmentation de la population dans ces pays, leur urbanisation et l'imitation d'un mode de vie occidental par une large classe moyenne. En effet, se définir comme «non végétarien» en Inde, pays végétarien par excellence, est devenu, dans certains secteurs, un statut social.

Une consommation chère pour la planète

Mais augmenter la consommation de viande dans le monde n'est pas gratuit, c'est très coûteux, tant sur le plan environnemental que social. Pour produire un kilo de veau, par exemple, il faut 15 500 litres d'eau, alors que pour produire un kilo de blé, il en faut 1 300 et pour un kilo de carottes 131, selon le Meat Atlas. Ainsi, si plus de 60 milliards d'animaux d'élevage sont nécessaires chaque année pour répondre à la demande actuelle de viande, d'œufs et de produits laitiers dans le monde, les engraisser coûte très cher. En fait, l'élevage industriel crée la faim, puisque 1/3 des terres arables et 40% de la production céréalière dans le monde sont utilisés pour les nourrir, au lieu de nourrir directement les gens. Et tout le monde ne peut pas se permettre un morceau de viande agroalimentaire. Selon les données du groupe ETC, 3 500 millions de personnes, soit la moitié des habitants de la planète, pourraient être nourries par ce que ces animaux consomment.

En outre, les vaches, les porcs et les poulets, dans le modèle actuel de production industrielle intensive, sont parmi les principaux moteurs du changement climatique. Qui dirait! On estime que l'élevage et ses sous-produits génèrent 51% des émissions mondiales de gaz à effet de serre. En fait, une vache et son veau dans un élevage de bovins émettent plus d'émissions qu'une voiture avec huit mille milles derrière elle, selon l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO). Nous, en mangeant de la viande, sommes coresponsables.

La maltraitance est le visage le plus sanglant de l'élevage industriel, où les animaux cessent d'être des êtres vivants pour devenir des choses et des marchandises. Le documentaire Samsara, sans scènes de violence explicite, montre l'extrême brutalité cachée des fermes qui produisent de la viande, du lait…, où les animaux vivent mal et les ouvriers les massacrent, les battent, les éviscèrent comme des objets. Un modèle de production qui a ses origines dans les abattoirs de Chicago, au début du XXe siècle, où la production à la chaîne permettait, en seulement quinze minutes, de tuer et de hacher une vache. Une méthode si "efficace" qu'Henry Ford l'adopterait pour la fabrication d'automobiles. Pour le capital, il n'y a pas de différence entre une voiture et un être vivant. Et pour nous? La distance entre le champ et l'assiette est devenue si grande ces dernières années qu'en tant que consommateurs, nous ne savons plus souvent qu'après une viande froide, une lasagne ou des spaghettis carbonara, il y avait de la vie.

Travail précaire


Les conditions de travail de ceux qui travaillent dans ces fermes laissent beaucoup à désirer. En fait, il y a plus de points communs entre les animaux abattus et les employés qui travaillent que ces derniers ne pourraient l'imaginer. Upton Sinclair dans son œuvre brillante The Jungle, où il décrivait la vie précaire des travailleurs des abattoirs de Chicago dans les premières années du siècle dernier, a précisé: «Là, les hommes ont été massacrés comme le bétail a été abattu: leurs corps et leurs âmes en morceaux et les a convertis en dollars et en cents. " Aujourd'hui, de nombreux abattoirs embauchent des immigrés dans des conditions précaires, des Mexicains aux États-Unis, comme le montre l'excellent film Fast Food Nation de Richard Linklater, ou d'Europe de l'Est dans les pays du centre de l'Union.

Le travail de Sinclair se poursuit cent ans plus tard, étant très actuel. L'industrie de l'élevage a également un effet désastreux sur notre santé. L'approvisionnement systématique en médicaments de manière préventive aux animaux pour qu'ils puissent survivre dans des conditions de logement terribles jusqu'à l'abattoir et pour obtenir un engraissement plus rapide, et à moindre coût pour l'entreprise, conduit au développement de bactéries résistantes à ces médicaments. Bactéries qui peuvent facilement passer aux humains par, entre autres, la chaîne alimentaire. Actuellement, selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, plus d'antibiotiques sont administrés aux animaux en bonne santé qu'aux personnes malades. En Chine, par exemple, on estime que plus de 100000 tonnes d'antibiotiques par an sont administrées aux animaux, la plupart sans aucun type de contrôle, et aux États-Unis, 80% des antibiotiques fournis vont aux bovins, car le Atlas of Meat indique. Et ce n'est pas tout, la FAO elle-même reconnaît qu'au cours des quinze dernières années, 75% des maladies humaines épidémiques sont d'origine animale, comme la grippe aviaire ou la grippe porcine, conséquence d'un modèle d'élevage insalubre.

Qui gagne avec ce modèle? Evidemment pas nous, même s'ils veulent que nous croyions le contraire. Quelques multinationales contrôlent le marché: Smithfield Foods, JBS, Cargill, Tyson Foods, BRF, Vion. Et ils obtiennent des avantages importants avec un système qui pollue l'environnement, génère le changement climatique, exploite les travailleurs, maltraite les animaux et nous rend malades.

Une question s'impose: peut-on continuer à manger autant de viande?


Vidéo: Manger de la viande, dangereux pour la santé? Dr JM Cohen (Juillet 2022).


Commentaires:

  1. Byrne

    Puis-je vous demander chez vous?

  2. Ivon

    Excuse que je ne peux pas participer maintenant à la discussion - c'est très occupé. Je reviendrai - j'exprimerai nécessairement l'opinion sur cette question.

  3. Rowley

    C'est dommage que je ne puisse pas parler maintenant - très occupé. Osvobozhus - Assurez-vous que votre opinion sur cette question.

  4. Shaktigor

    C'est dommage que je ne puisse pas parler maintenant - je suis obligé de partir. Mais je serai libéré - j'écrirai certainement que je pense sur cette question.

  5. Rabican

    Désolé, mais cela ne me convient pas.

  6. Mezilabar

    Je suis désolé, mais à mon avis, vous vous trompez. Nous devons discuter. Écrivez-moi en MP, parlez.



Écrire un message

TOPICS

Can we keep eating that much meat? What consequences does it bring?

Can we keep eating that much meat? What consequences does it bring?


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

By Esther Vivas

The consumption of meat is associated with progress and modernity. In fact, in the Spanish State between 1965 and 1991 its intake multiplied by four, especially that of pork, according to data from the Ministry of Agriculture. In recent years, however, consumption in industrialized countries has stagnated or even declined, due, among others, to food scandals (mad cows, bird flu, dioxin chickens, horse meat instead of beef). cow, etc.) and to a greater concern about what we eat. In any case, it must be remembered that here too, and more so in a context of crisis, broad sectors cannot opt ​​for fresh or quality food or to choose between diets with or without meat.

The trend in emerging countries, such as Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, the so-called BRICS, on the other hand, is increasing. These concentrate 40% of the world population and between 2003 and 2012 their meat consumption increased by 6.3%, and it is expected that between 2013 and 2022 it will grow by 2.5%. The most spectacular case is that of China, which has gone in a few years, from 1963 to 2009, from consuming 90 kilocalories of meat per person per day to 694, as indicated by the Meat Atlas. The motives? The increase of the population in these countries, their urbanization and the imitation of a western way of life by a broad middle class. In fact, defining oneself as "non-vegetarian" in India, a vegetarian country par excellence, has become, among some sectors, a social status.

An expensive consumption for the planet

But increasing the world's meat intake is not free, it is very expensive, both in environmental and social terms. To produce a kilo of veal, for example, you need 15,500 liters of water, while to produce a kilo of wheat you need 1,300 and for a kilo of carrots 131, according to the Meat Atlas. So if more than 60 billion farm animals are needed each year to meet the current demand for meat, eggs and dairy products around the world, fattening them is very expensive. In fact, industrial animal husbandry creates hunger, since 1/3 of the arable land and 40% of the cereal production in the world is used to feed them, instead of directly feeding people. And not everyone can afford a piece of agribusiness meat. According to data from the ETC Group, 3.5 billion people, half of the planet's inhabitants, could be nourished by what these animals consume.

Furthermore, cows, pigs and chickens, in the current model of intensive industrial production, are some of the main drivers of climate change. Who'd say! Livestock and its by-products are estimated to generate 51% of global greenhouse gas emissions. In fact, a cow and her calf on a beef farm emit more emissions than a car with eight thousand miles behind it, according to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). We, by eating meat, are co-responsible.

Abuse is the bloodiest face of factory farming, where animals stop being living beings to become things and merchandise. The documentary Samsara, without scenes of explicit violence, shows the hidden, extreme brutality of the farms that produce meat, milk ..., where the animals live badly and the workers butcher them, beat them, gut them as if they were objects. A production model that has its origins in the slaughterhouses of Chicago, at the beginning of the 20th century, where line production allowed, in just fifteen minutes, to kill and chop a cow. A method so "efficient" that Henry Ford would adopt it for the manufacture of automobiles. For capital, there is no difference between a car and a living being. And for us? The distance between the field and the plate has become so great in recent years that as consumers we are no longer aware many times that after a cold meat, a lasagna or some spaghetti carbonara there was life.

Precarious work


The working conditions of those who work on these farms leave much to be desired. In fact, there is more common ground between the animals that are slaughtered and the employees who work than the latter could imagine. Upton Sinclair in his brilliant work The Jungle, where he portrayed the precarious life of Chicago slaughterhouse workers in the early years of the last century, made it clear: "There men were slaughtered just like cattle were slaughtered: their bodies and their souls to pieces and turned them into dollars and cents. " Today, many slaughterhouses hire immigrants in precarious conditions, Mexicans in the United States, as portrayed in Richard Linklater's excellent film Fast Food Nation, or from Eastern Europe in the countries of the center of the Union.

Sinclair's work continues a hundred years later, being very topical. The livestock industry, likewise, has a disastrous effect on our health. The systematic supply of medicines in a preventive way to the animals so that they can survive in terrible housing conditions until the slaughterhouse and to obtain a faster fattening, and with less cost for the company, leads to the development of bacteria resistant to these drugs. Bacteria that can easily pass to people through, among others, the food chain. Currently, according to the World Health Organization, more antibiotics are given to healthy animals than to sick people. In China, for example, it is estimated that more than 100,000 tons of antibiotics a year are given to animals, most without any type of control, and in the United States, 80% of the antibiotics that are supplied go to cattle, as the Atlas of Meat indicates. And that is not all, the FAO itself recognizes that in the last fifteen years, 75% of epidemic human diseases have their origin in animals, such as bird flu or swine flu, a consequence of an unhealthy livestock model.

Who wins with this model? Obviously not us, although they want us to believe otherwise. A few multinationals control the market: Smithfield Foods, JBS, Cargill, Tyson Foods, BRF, Vion. And they obtain important benefits with a system that pollutes the environment, generates climate change, exploits workers, mistreats animals and makes us sick.

A question is imposed: can we continue to eat so much meat?


Video: How to Burn the Most Fat Possible: WEBINAR (July 2022).


Comments:

  1. Mannie

    Shine

  2. Tearlach

    Faced with the problem of choice (whether we are making a large purchase or buying a nice trinket), it is important for us to know about the qualities of the product. Expert advice, which can be found in each article posted on this site, will help you to understand the whole variety of goods or services.

  3. Rafiki

    In my opinion, this is obvious. I recommend that you search google.com



Write a message